Carol Feller in a hand knit sweater

Fiberside Chats: Carol Feller

Regular price $20.00

What’s so Special about Short Rows?

Carol Feller has written the book on short rows, literally! Most knitters have heard about short rows, often they’re just an annoying extra you have to add to your work. But did you know that this simple technique can create magical results? You can transform flat surfaces into three dimensions, and add curves to straight lines. Come learn all about Carol’s favourite short row techniques, how she adds them to her knitting, and explore the wide range of ways they can be used in your knitting. What fun it will be to virtually visit with Carol at her studio in Ireland!

No homework is necessary but if you have some yarn and needles you can try a few of the techniques as she talks through them.

Bio: As with many Irish children Carol learned to knit while still in primary school and spent many years knitting cardigans for her dolls and occasionally herself.

Carol trained initially as a textile artist and then as a structural engineer. While both of these backgrounds are very different the influences can be seen in her design work which is well-shaped, flattering to wear and enjoyable to knit. 
She is the founder of Stolen Stitches and has been widely published in books and magazines and travels the world teaching in yarn shops and fibre festivals. The classes she teaches cover a wide range of subjects from basics, cables and chart reading, through garment shaping and customization right through to short rows and colourwork. Find out more here: https://stolenstitches.com/

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 6th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific.

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

_________________

What are Fiberside Chats?

Launched in May of 2020 by Longmont Yarn Shoppe, Fiberside Chats are gatherings hosted on Zoom. These Zoom meeting are typically one-hour chats with special guests from the fiber community giving us a peek into their world. These designers and creators will discuss their unique path, creative processes, latest projects—or whatever is inspiring them now. There will also be a Q&A session, giveaways, and other fun surprises for those who join!

Fiberside Chats cost $20 to register. To register, you can go directly to Longmont Yarn Shoppe's website. You then can choose any participating yarn shops to assign your registration fee.

To register:
1) Pick your yarn store host (scroll all the way down to select The Craftivist)
2) Choose how many spots you are reserving
3) Check out

As a collaborating partner with Longmont Yarn Shoppe, The Craftivist earns a commission when you select our shop. Thank you for your support!

Alternatively, you can register through here our site (registration will close 24 hours before the start of the Zoom chat).